top of page
  • Writer's pictureshespeakslikeawrit

February 14th

(Song: Luka Chuppi- A.R Rahman, Lata Mangeshkar)


Valentines day. 

Alarms going off.

I see red, the color of love.

Gifting of bouquets and blooming roses.

The trickle of blood from a bunker, staining the ground crimson.

I see red, the color of love.

Rooms aglow with the soft, romantic light from candles.

Eerie silences interrupted by the crackling of raging flames.

I see red, the color of love.

Women wearing fancy dresses and scarlet lipstick.

Women dressed in white the parting in their hair still stained vermillion

I see red, the color of love.

Men, rejoicing with their families and giving gifts

Men, boiling with anger for the brothers they’ve lost.

I see red, the color of blood.

And at last

I see black.

(Written fueled by fury of the Pulwama Attacks. May all the brave souls find peace, and may our nation, our maatrabhoomi, forever honor their sacrifice.)


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page